Book Tags

The Book Sacrifice Tag

Hey, guys! I’ve seen this tag been done all over Booktube and on loads of blogs so today I thought I would join in too. This tag was originally created by Booktuber, Ariel Bisset. This challenge consists of different scenarios where you have to sacrifice a book, so let’s jump straight in!

Scenario One

  • An Over-Hyped book: Let’s start this off with a Zombie Apocalypse! Let’s say you’re in a bookstore, just browsing when BAM! ZOMBIE ATTACK. An announcement comes over the PA System saying that the military has discovered that the zombies’ only weakness is over-hyped books. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you really hated do you start chucking at the zombies knowing that it will count as an over-hyped book and successfully wipe them out?!

There are so many books I could choose from for this scenario but I’m going to go with Caraval by Stephanie Garber. When this book was first released it received so much hype that I had to pick it up. The book promised to be ‘mesmerising’ and ‘enchanting’. However, I was left seriously underwhelmed by the book. (Caraval Review: https://caitlinlaurengraceblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/14/caraval-by-stephanie-garber-book-review/)

Scenario Two

  • A Sequel: Let’s say you’ve just left the salon with a SMASHING new haircut and BOOM: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

In most trilogies/ series the second book in most cases does not live up to the greatness of the first which is understandable since it sets up our expectations. The sequel I have decided to sacrifice is Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard. I really enjoyed the first book in the series Red Queen but I found the second book very slow paced in comparison!

Scenario Three

  • A Classic: Let’s say you’re in a lecture and your English teacher is going on and on about how this classic changed the world, how it revolutionised literature and you get so sick of it that you chuck the classic right at his face because you know what? This classic is stupid and it’s worth detention just to show everyone how you feel! What Classic did you chuck?

A few classics came to mind with this scenario including The Road by Cormac McCarthy and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. I studied the latter in my final year at Sixth Form and spent hours analysing the text which is most likely where my hatred grew from. I’m definitely in the majority with this opinion though as whenever I’m scrolling through my Bookstagram feed so many people collect different editions of Carroll’s book!

Scenario Four

  • Your least favourite book of life!: Let’s say that you’re hanging out at the library when BAM global warming explodes and the world outside becomes a frozen wasteland. You’re trapped and your only chance for survival is to burn a book. What is the book you first run to, your least favourite book of all life, what book do you not fully regret lighting?

I would straight away grab the book Splintered by A.G Howard and light that shit up. Even the mere mention of the book fills me with anger and even just today I told my best friend ‘if I could I would burn this book out of existence.’ That may be a tad harsh but I had so many issues with this book including the degradation of the MC by the love interest. I would definitely not regret burning this book.

 

So that’s it for today’s tag! Comment below some of your answers!

Thanks for reading!

Until next time,

Caitlin Lauren Grace x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

