Book Tags

April Wrap-Up

I honestly can’t believe April has been and gone. This year seems to be flying by too quickly. That being said I did manage to get a bit of reading done. Overall I completed a total of four books in the month of April. Four books isn’t too bad but I had wanted to read a few more. However, I am still pleased with the books I did manage to complete.

The first book I read this month was Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard. I won’t go into too much detail about this book since it is the sequel to Red Queen. Like most second books in a series Glass Sword suffered from Sequel syndrome by which the book didn’t live up to the expectations the first book had set. As a whole I felt that this was book was very slow moving and not a lot happening. Although I did feel as though the ending made up for it. This book is definitely the reason I didn’t read as much as I had wanted to this month as it took me a whole nine days to read! I ended up giving this book 3.5/5 stars.

The next book I read in the month of April was Panic by Lauren Oliver. Unlike majority of people, I really enjoyed Lauren Oliver’s Delirium triology so was eager to read her other novel Panic. It had been sitting on my shelf for a while now so I decided to finally pick it up. This book really reminded me of the film Nerve (which I loved) due to the whole dare aspect of the book. It was definitely an enjoyable read; however, I didn’t feel any sort of connection to the characters meaning I didn’t really care what happened to them. Due to this I gave the book 3.5/5 stars.

The third book I read in the month of April was actually a collection of essays written by Lily Collins. As soon as I found out Lily Collins was releasing a book called Unfiltered: No Regrets, No Shame, Just Me I knew straight away I had to get it. Lily Collins is one of my favourite actresses and overall an inspirational woman. In her autobiography she is delightfully honest and offers a raw side of herself that fans wouldn’t usually see. She also offers some great advice throughout. All in all, I really enjoyed it and gave it 4/5 stars.

The final book I completed was King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard. I felt that the third book definitely redeemed itself from the sequel Glass Sword and was overall I great read. I even found myself putting off reading it as I didn’t want it to be over. Yet another reason I only read four books in April. I can’t wait to read the next installment in this series by Victoria Aveyard. Although I’ll have to wait until 2018! *crying on the inside* I hope to have a review up of Red Queen, Glass Sword and King’s Cage soon so stay tuned!

That’s all for this month’s wrap up! Let me know in the comments what books you read this month and if you’ve read any of the books I’ve mentioned!

Thanks for reading!

Until next time,

Caitlin Lauren Grace x

 

Leave a Reply

