Book Reviews

Splintered by A.G Howard | Book Review

This review is spoiler free!

Goodreads Synopsis:

This stunning debut captures the grotesque madness of a mystical under-land, as well as a girl’s pangs of first love and independence.

Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.

When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious Bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own.

 

I’ll start by saying this will be a short review as I actually did not finish this book. Due to this, I can only speak my thoughts on the parts I did read. Splintered is the first retelling I’ve ever read, I had hoped that this book would act as a gateway into this genre but was left extremely underwhelmed. This book had been sitting on my shelf for a while and I’d picked it up many times, read the first couple pages and put it back in its place. Then last week whilst on Audible, I used a free credit to purchase the audiobook hoping that this way I’d actually get into the book. This was the worst decision I have ever made. Not only did I utterly waste my free credit I also wasted my precious time. There was not one thing I liked about this book. The main character Alyssa was so incredibly annoying and childish. The love interest, Jeb, was overprotective, controlling and was constantly demeaning the main character. Yet somehow she’s in love with him!? Morpheus, don’t even get me started on Morpheus. First of all, the audiobook’s narrator had an absolutely awful cockney accent that could not be overlooked. Secondly, in no way did I find Morpheus ‘sexy’. He literally made my skin crawl. I found his character extremely creepy and disturbing at times, especially in the part of the book where he takes Alyssa to his bedroom. It was the chapter after this where I decided to call it a quits. I could no longer read on. Instead, I decided to not waste my time and read a book that I would actually enjoy. I certainly will not be picking this up again or the sequel for that matter.

If you have yet to read this book I truly hope that you enjoy it more than I did. If you’ve already read it, what were your thoughts? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

